Freak Out

Immagination is dble. edged

Sometimes truly wonderful

Biting the big one at others.

1st. time I encountered bad

Was about 4yr.s old & sis told

A witch lived under my bed

Would grab & eat if I dangled

I was terrified to petrification.

It wasn’t the story itself

What imagination did with.

There’s been many instances.

Once upon visiting an asylum

In brief flashlight I saw

Slumped bodies against wall

Me & companions freaked

We all ran like hell breathed.

I realised, later on that

Was probably garbage bags

Just my active imagination.

I recently encountered another

Foolish, I’ve walked 100’s

A simple, ordinary overpass

Suddenly imagination conjured

Intruded thoughts into my mind

What if the structure collapses?

Over traffic, you probably

Won’t survive the fall.

How old is it anyway?

& on & on it went thusly

I had to sternly talk to self

Brain to brain communication

Even made self repeat a few

But imagination wouldn’t stop

That’s when I learned

Fears are imagination products

A mind thing & that’s our specialty

Well within our grasp to conquer.

Leave a comment